This weekend saw Chvrches kick off their 2018 world tour with a stellar performance at Danforth Music Hall in Toronto, Canada. The first show of the tour comes just a week before the Scottish synth-pop icons release their new album, ‘Love is Dead’, scheduled for a May 25 release.

The performance also marked the band’s first full show with new member Johnny Scott on drums. While the set-list for the show was a proper career-spanning set, their performance also leaned heavily on their new album. In addition to performing previously shared new songs ‘Get Out’, ‘Never Say Die’ and ‘Miracle,’ Chvrches also played ‘ii’, ‘Graffiti’, ‘Just A Thing’ and ‘God’s Plan,’ (featuring Martin Doherty on lead vocals) giving fans a taste of what’s to come in the new album for the first time.

For the encore, they played ‘The Mother We Share’ from 2013’s ‘The Bones of What You Believe’ and ‘Clearest Blue’ from 2015’s ‘Every Open Eye’.

Watch some of the live debuts below via fan-shot footage:

The addition of Scott on drums was also very noticeable, giving the otherwise synth-pop centric outfit a refreshing three-dimensional rock element to their live sound.

Check out some of the old favorites from Chvrches career-spanning set below:

Speaking about their upcoming third album ‘Love is Dead’ in an interview with NME last April, leading lady Lauren Mayberry praised the recent rise in people speaking out and protesting as a positive amid widespread political tension.

“As much as we talk about the negative things that are floating around the world right now, I do think that that stuff galvanizes people and sparks change,” Mayberry said during the interview.

Check out Chvrches’ complete setlist from the show below:

Chvrches Setlist

1. Get Out
2. Bury It
3. Gun
4. We Sink
5. Graffiti
6. Lies
7. Under the Tide
8. God’s Plan
9. Miracle
10. Never Ending Circles
11. Tether
12. Forever
13. Recover
14. Leave a Trace
15. Never Say Die

1. The Mother We Share
2. Clearest Blue


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here